Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Review: Light in the Darkness: A Noblebright Fantasy Boxed Set

Light in the Darkness: A Noblebright Fantasy Boxed Set


Publisher: Publisher Name ()
ISBN-13: 999-1234567890
Kindle: 5225 KB
Publication Date: October 18, 2016
ASIN: B01K3534QI
Available on Amazon

Released Today!

If you took advantage of the pre-order steal of 99c, this should now be in your Kindle library today. I was offered a review copy, and since I had already pre-ordered, I said, why not, let me get started!

I love that on the Kindle (and Fire) this is so organized! The table of contents has each book by author, and each book expands to it's own table of contents. And when you are reading one of the books, the status bar on the bottom acts just like it would in a regular book - if you are halfway through the book, it shows half, even though the book is at the end of the collection. Very nice.

As soon as I got my review copy I opened it to Sherwood Smith's book. Sherwood is one of my favorite fantasy writers, and I'd never read this one yet. Lhind the Thief is a YA mystery adventure that is the beginning of it's own series. It was originally published in 2013, and if you purchase it separately it would cost $4.99. But in this collection it just costs around 16 cents (I did the math).

Lhind the Thief is about a thief that can do "shimmers" (illusions) and because of this gets shanghaid into an adventure. On the way we start to realize that the real mystery lies in Lhind's own identity. It's a very engaging story and now I want to read the sequel. Like all of Sherwood's books, I love how fresh and yet layered the fantasy setting is. She's really good at creating her world but not overwhelming the reader with details.

My biggest problem with this collection is that with so many books to choose from , which do I read next? I think I may try Sabrina Chase's The Last Mage Guardian next, just because I've heard good things about her books.

Here's the blurb for the Light in the Darkness, including a summary of the contents.

Twelve noblebright fantasy novels of beauty and wonder!

Noblebright fantasy characters have the courage to risk kindness, honesty, integrity, and love; to fight against their own flaws and the darkness of the world around them; and to find hope in a grim world.

This is what you'll find inside:

C. J. Brightley - The King's Sword: A disillusioned soldier. A spoiled, untried prince. And a coup that threatens the country they both love.

Lindsay Buroker - The Emperor’s Edge — A law enforcer being hunted for a crime she didn’t commit must work with a cold-hearted assassin to save the only person who can clear her name.

Sabrina Chase - The Last Mage Guardian: Most thought the Mage Guardians simply a myth, but their old enemy knows better--and of their number only one remains to thwart his plan of magical domination and revenge.

Francesca Forrest - Pen Pal: It starts with a message in a bottle and ends with revolution.

Kyra Halland - Beneath the Canyons: A bounty-hunting wizard and a rancher's daughter with untrained powers must stop a renegade wizard who is tampering with dangerous magic.

Angela Holder - Into the Storm: A massive hurricane will destroy Elathir unless Larine and her fellow wizards sacrifice everything to stop it.

Ronald Long - On the Shores of Irradan: Ealrin Belouve and his friends travel to a new land and face new dangers in search of a tree that may restore magic to one of their own.

*Mike Reeves McMillan - Hope and the Patient Man: A talented young mage must overcome a curse to be with the wounded hero who loves her.

T. A. Miles - Six Celestial Swords: The dragon Chaos threatens the magical world of Dryth. Xu Liang sets out on a quest to unite the only six magical blades that can save it.

Christina Ochs - Rise of the Storm: When a renegade priest prophesies an imminent apocalypse, a conflict is sparked which will tip a continent into war.

Sherwood Smith - Lhind the Thief: Lhind enjoys life on the run, taking what she wants, until her secrets are uncovered one by one.

Emily Martha Sorensen - The Keeper and the Rulership: In a world where mathematics and magic are forbidden, Raneh's growing magic and can't figure out how to stop.

*Most books in this set are appropriate for ages 13+, except for Hope and the Patient Man which has slightly more mature themes, appropriate for ages 16+.

Reviewed by on

No comments:

Post a Comment